Jotul C550 secondary burn ?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

tpm1952

Aug 3, 2010
Mid Michigan
Hello All,

I have a C550 that I have been using for about 3 years now. There was no block off plate used during the install. Masonry chimney in house built in 1993.The wood being burned is well seasoned (split over 2 years ago, dry oak and cherry).

My question has to do with secondary burns. The secondary tubes do not display any flame no matter what I do.

My typical burn includes running the fan at its lowest setting and with the draft half way open. Are there any obvious things I should check?

Thanks, Tom (Michigan)

Last edited:
The further you close the draft, the more air will be pulled from other locations such as secondaries. That could be one thing. If you have well seasoned wood, i would think the draft would be fully closed. The only time mine isn't fully closed is when starting a fire, other than that i barely touch it.

Check that the skamol bricks in the baffle are intact and properly seated. I would also want to know the stove top temp while operating. I keep an eye on mine by having a stove thermometer in the vent a few inches back.

If the wood is burning vigorously and the brick and glass arestaying reasonably clean then cut back more on the air. How often do you have it swept?

Check that the skamol bricks in the baffle are intact and properly seated. I would also want to know the stove top temp while operating. I keep an eye on mine by having a stove thermometer in the vent a few inches back.