Kent tile fire

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Nbourque

Jan 16, 2019
Maine
I have an older Kent stove that I’ve been using for the last 5 years. I’ve noticed an issue lately with the damper not opening and closing smoothly only when the stove is hot. I’ve read the previous threads on the issues with these but I’m wondering if the puck on the inside is indeed warped is it possible to just install a damper on the stove pipe? Or will this style of stove not run correctly with a generic style damper? Thanks.

I have an older Kent stove that I’ve been using for the last 5 years. I’ve noticed an issue lately with the damper not opening and closing smoothly only when the stove is hot. I’ve read the previous threads on the issues with these but I’m wondering if the puck on the inside is indeed warped is it possible to just install a damper on the stove pipe? Or will this style of stove not run correctly with a generic style damper? Thanks.
Can you stick your head in the stove, close the damper and have a look? The rod of the damper might be stuck. I have had this issue also with my Kent. Lubricating it with graphite powder helps in most cases.

Can you stick your head in the stove, close the damper and have a look? The rod of the damper might be stuck. I have had this issue also with my Kent. Lubricating it with graphite powder helps in most cases.
Take a look from the top of the stove where the pipe comes in or literally inside the stove?

If the puck is not flat, but bend, it is a sign of warping. If not, you're okay and the rod is the culprit. Lubricate it with graphite powder. Available at Lowes and HD.