Longer burns than expected

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ckarotka

Minister of Fire
Hearth Supporter
Sep 21, 2009
Northwest PA on the lake
I installed a small Quad 400 0.9cuft cast stove into my heart this year. I've had this stove for 4 years now (freestanding before, purchased new) and it never held a very long burn, rightfully so, being so small. This is my first year since finding Hearth.com that I have dry wood. Also first year with the hearth mount.

I loaded it at 1230pm today with two medium chunks (one silver maple the other ??) and it cooked away just fine 450 or so for a while. I left it alone and went on with the days stuff to do. At 515 I decided to see if I could just reload from coals, and I COULD!

Is this because of the dry wood, or the hearth insulated the stove and keeping things warm or a combo of both?

Needless to say I'm very pleased with what I found today, being in the past I could never have done this.

Charlie

I can comment on the wood for sure. Dry wood makes an enormous difference with burn times and burn temps. I have commented on other posts with regards to wood selection along with the wood being dry. In the colder months, Jan and Feb, I will combine hotter burning hardwoods with smaller amounts of the softer hardwoods and get much longer burn times and more heat output. I have also found that stacking the next days burn load in the same room as the stove will 1. dry any questionable damp wood and 2. prepare the load to be warm, out from the cold. Congratulations on your longer burn times!