Moving our Wood Furnace Exhaust

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Okla

Mar 28, 2021
The Berkshires
First things first, I'd like to say "hello" to the forum board. :)

As a transplanted southern builder, I haven't installed a wood stove to this point. As we're in the process of building a lean-to roof off of our 2-story home, however, we need to move the chimney stack from where it is to an adjacent outside basement wall.

The previous owners used an interior and an exterior cover plate to cover the point where the 6" smoke pipe enters our concrete basement wall and, again, where the galvanized chimney tee, at the base of the chimney presently sits. Please see the photo for an outside view of the base of the chimney.

DHR Wood Stove Exhaust Tee .jpg
As you can see, the round decorative plate that was mounted against the wall hides the actual hole that was drilled through the 12" reinforced concrete basement wall behind the brick veneer.

Before we begin taking all of this apart, I'd like to be prepared to core-drill the new hole, which will be located just around the corner, which is to the left of this chimney...so the question is: If I measure the O.D. of the tee port that is passing through the decorative circular plate, as seen in this photo, will I know which size core bit to use on the basement wall?

I read through another thread here where the OP seemed to be asking the same thing, but I wasn't able to get a clear answer to this question.

Thank you very much for your time and your consideration ~ Okla

First things first, I'd like to say "hello" to the forum board. :)