Need some advice on stove possibilities

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

z3px

Nov 28, 2010
Greenwood, SC
Hello all, this is my first post on the forums and I'm new to stoves in general.
I recently took out some old ventless gas logs and I'm exploring my options on what to do with the fireplace, one such is installing a wood burning (preferred) stove. However, the fireplace itself is a bit odd (see pictures below). I have little room to play with since it's a raised platform (see diagram). I'd like a stove that would look good and heat about 1,000sqf. Please see pictures and diagram below. I'd like to keep the project at or below $1,000 if possible. I haven't had a professional inspect the chimney itself yet but plan to do that next week. Any advice/opinions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advanced!
fpdiag.JPG

fp3.JPG

fp4.JPG

What's the chimney like? All masonry?

What's the total height and diameter of the flue?

Heating the place should be fairly straight forward, but the budget is suspect, especially if "a stove that would look good" means cast iron or soapstone.

Well, It's likely that you're going to need a 6" stainless liner to get the stove to vent properly.
If you're willing to install it yourself I imagine you could do it for under a thousand....that leaves the stove. I've seen some smaller epa stoves go in the 600-1000 range.

If you get it installed by year-end you qualify for the biofuel tax credit.

That top pic is strange looking..is it looking up the chimney?
1k might get you started.