New memeber! Need help with a two different furnaces foxfire and deka and an idea.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Cwarta

Nov 2, 2017
355nova
Hello all, thank you for the knowledge I see here, I've been reading profusely for the last few days and decided to join. I'm no stranger to wood burning, however I am new to wood furnaces. I picked this FoxFire stove up last January for free, a local Sherrie was wanting it out of his newly purchased home and told me if I took it out I could have it. So I made the trip. In my jeep Cherokee... that was a mistake and a half, but we got it in and very sketchily drive home.

I absolutely love this stove, we live in a 2 story old, I mean olddddd farm house. The house has no insulation, period. None. Previous tenants had a wood burner in every bedroom in the 5 bedroom house. I bought a used 120k btu propane furnace and put it in first, and after the first month, I knew that wasn't going to fly. Burned thru $200 in one month in propane.

So I got the above mentioned stove. I can't seem to find any info about this particular stove out there, but it puts out an INSANE amount of heat. It puts this 120k btu propane stove to absolute shame. I'm in love with it.

So much so, that I wanted to find another one for my newly put up 28x25 garage I just built from scrap material. I found a daka on FB for $200 so I picked that up, after close inspection it's clear they are twondifferent classes of stoves. I feel like my Foxfire was a high end expensive stove, looking at the internals.

So now onto my questions.