New Stove or try to re-gasket

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

FactorX

Oct 3, 2019
NJ
Hi everyone, I'm looking for some advice as to what to do with this stove. We moved into the house 2 years ago and had this big guy in the basement. I had a bunch of wood left over from the previous owner so I have had some experience using it and I have encountered some issues.
1. The interior seems to be damaged both at the back(broken cast iron plate) and at the top (warped baffle).
2. I am having issues controlling the burn. The singular air control on the bottom of the unit doesn't do a great job regulating the heat. I wind up putting 1 or 2 splits in at a time to avoid overheating the room but it burns through them in roughly an hour. This stove goes through wood fast.
3. With the doors closed it is not much to look at. I do have the firescreen that comes with the unit which allows it to operate more like a traditional fireplace but rarely use it as it tends to allow the wood to burn faster and sucks a good bit of air out of the room without providing a ton more heat.