New to Wood Burning and Overwhelmed

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

jiujitsuguy

Jan 15, 2020
Nova Scotia
Hi all,

I apologize if any of these questions has been answered before. I tried to click through the "Start Here" thread but all but a couple of the links won't load.

This is my first year using wood heat after a couple years in our new/first house (she's an old house ~100 years). After some ridiculous oil bills (we have hot water baseboard heating with electric in some rooms) we decided to bite the bullet and invest in a wood insert. We went with a new Enviro Kodiak 1200 insert which was what could fit in the available space.

I've read through the many threads and I guess the only questions I have left are:

1.) Is it possible to fill up the insert too full? The manual says to fill it to the top of the door opening but then goes on to say to not overfill and that 3-4 logs will usually do the trick. I worry about a run away fire, especially if I want to leave it unattended (ie overnight). Does E-W and N-S matter in this regard?

2.) How do people know how hot it is inside the insert? I see for free standing stoves that people use stove top and flue thermometers but I don't think that's an option with inserts, is it? I see some use an IR meter but I also see that it isn't very accurate either for what you need it to do.