New to wood stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Terrigirl

Dec 4, 2022
Ohio
This is my first year using the wood stove in the house. Any advice anyone can give on how to get over the fear of it would be greatly appreciated. My main fear is that my parents had a chimney fire when I was younger and I keep remembering that. Anytime I start to feel comfortable, I remember that and anxiety kicks in. I am burning hickory that I was told was ready to burn, but some of it honestly doesn’t seem as dry as the rest. I am hoping to get comfortable before the really cold weather hits Ohio.

The forum is helping me learn a little more and I really do hope that I can get more comfortable soon.

Thanks in advance for any advice on how to be less afraid of my wood stove. I think it will be a great backup soirce this winter when I get to know my stove a little better.

Reactions: Dix
Tell us about the stove. What brand and what chimney and stove pipe? Was it already installed or did you have it installed? Has it been cleaned and inspected if it was already there?
I like the smell of Hickory but it really snaps crackles and pops when it burns. Unless you know the wood and how long it's been dried or have it moisture tested assume it's not dry enough.

Reactions: Ashful
Yes, what stove, how tall is the chimney?