Newbie asks for help with old Jotul 118 wood-burner + Smokey Room!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

transcendentalist

Feb 16, 2010
United Kingdom
Hi everyone. I've spent some time searching your fourm for answers to my problems, but couldn't find anything which was as specific as the help I'm looking for - admittedly because I am a total novice!

We live in an old house (1800) here in England and have one of the 1970s Jotul 118 wood-burning stove (the green model, not the updated version). Although we've lived here for several years, I've never managed to get it going - two small children and a full-time job meant that I was always too busy, and so relied on our oil central heating plus calor-gas heaters whenever we needed extra warmth.