Newbie questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Black Jaque Janaviac

Feeling the Heat
Dec 17, 2009
Ouisconsin
I've been buring wood for a few years so I'm not entirely new to woodburning. However we recently moved into a house with hot water baseboard heat.

I just put an insert in the living room fireplace and it does a so-so job. However, I prefer the heat distribution of the baseboard. The way the baseboards are plumbed, zoning them is impossible. One thermostat runs the boiler and to change that would be a major overhaul.

I'm curious about these indoor wood boilers.

1) Do I understand correctly that they use the thermal mass of the firebrick to maintain temperatur in the firebox above ignition temp for several hours? Thus, when the thermostat shuts off, all combustion is stopped, then when the thermostatic kicks in all that is needed is a shot of fresh air and it starts up again?

2) Does this ability to cease combustion translate into a big savings on wood consumption?

I have room for one more insert in the basement. I figure that with two inserts burning on the coldest winter days the entire house should be comfortable. But if these boilers are truly more efficient than an EPA certified insert, I might save my pennies for a boiler instead. Using less fuel has it's own positives. More space in my yard. Less worry about where, how and when to aquire wood.