Ok to stack wood near trees?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

illini81

Feeling the Heat
Apr 7, 2017
Southeastern CT
Hi,

I am new to the wood stove community. Thanks to everyone who posts on here. I've learned a lot over the past 2 months, and look forward to learning much more.

I haven't yet bought a stove, still narrowing down my choices. I have, however, picked up about 3 cords of wood from two people who had trees taken down and didn't want the wood. I'm now trying to figure out where to store it on my property. I live on about an acre that is almost entirely wooded.

My question is this: is it bad to store firewood near (within two feet or so) of a healthy tree? Will the weight of the wood damage the root system of the tree? Is there a danger that pests in the firewood will attack the tree?

I'm planning on storing the wood on pallets which are on top of cinder blocks.

Thanks for the help.

Short Answer : It is OK to stack close to trees
I personally see no problem other than most people
stack in the open for the sun and wind to dry . If
there is some air movement and the sun hits it some
times it will dry . If it is shade all the time it may rot
because of the moisture .

* Your stack might shift and topple if trees are smaller diameter, tall trees and sway in the wind.
* If stack is raised or bridged over trunk flare/ roots, the tree should be fine.