Old stove moved to new house. Back puff and creosote questions.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

mathewc

Sep 27, 2017
Northern VA
TL;DR I am still new to running a stove I've had for a few years and hoping to get advice on what to do moving forward...

Hey all. I recently moved to a new (to me) house and there was a large timberline stove setup downstairs. I pulled it out and installed my Warnock Hersey 24-IC because it has a catalytic combuster and served me well in my last home.

Here's the old stove and the configuration:
08v60B5.jpg

When I pulled it out, it was full of un-burned debris and creosote:

4KTTM5T.jpg

Here's the hole in the wall that the pipe slides into:
Ukzhnki.jpg

In addition to this, the dipshit previous owner had no chimney cap installed. I found the one he was using before he removed it for the home inspection and it was the wrong size, so he screwed WOOD onto it to make it fit.

Here's looking down the chimney:

bzljka3.jpg

Pretty hard to tell alignment and buildup from this picture, but it's what I have...

Behind the stove, there's a door, which, goes back, meets up with the terracotta liner, then drops down as a catch for anything that should fall. I attempted to clean that out, and found a pile of this:

plfWu0n.jpg

So. I did my best to clean everything out, and install my stove the same way as the previous one. It drafts just fine to get started and seems to run like it did at my last house.

For grins, I put a piece of metal into the clean out hole behind the stove to catch anything falling down, and it seems that the new stove/heat is knocking a lot of creosote down: