Outdoor, indoor, upgrade or relocate my wood stove...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

roofyroo

Jan 29, 2015
Virginia
I'm completely new to wood stove's but I'm a quick learner and good at research. Hopefully I can get some useful opinions here...

I'm in Virginia and recently bought a 2 story 2000 sq. ft. house with a basement (additional 1000 sq. ft.) built in 1933. The previous owners left a Hearthstone Heritage 8021 wood burning stove which is located in a corner room of the house which was clearly an additional at some point. This room has a chimney flue as well the 2 flues in each side of the open basement.
The old owners just upgraded their heating system but it is all electric and clearly the unit is not capable of keeping up in the cold - hence the electric bill is sky high - so I'm investigating options.

1. I can add the optional blower (#90-57210 and $300) to the Heritage which also requires the rear heat shield (#90-68210 and $160). If this is our primary heat source then I'm wondering if I should get the chimney lined?

2. Replace the Heritage with something with more BTUs (the Heritage is 55,000) and more sq. ft. coverage, and sell the Heritage.

3. Buy a new stove, or move the Heritage to one of the basement flues which will require it be lined, and probably expensive as it'll be 3 levels?

4. Buy a new stove with a blower, or move the Heritage to the basement and buy a blower, so it will heat the basement and then rise through our grating (old house has open vent to the first floor).