PelPro glass is black

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

fish03

Jan 4, 2017
Pleasant Plain
Hello,
I am new to using a pellet stove as we bought out PelPro pp 130 back in December 2016 and have now burned about 2 tons in it. We've burned American Wood Fibers - Premium Hardwood the entire time. We don't have room to store it so our local feed store just keeps a running tally for us and we pick up about 10 bags at a time to keep in the house. Recently our glass has turned black within a couple hours of burning. I feel like there is a problem but have no idea what it might be. Last night it was set on 4 and burned through 2 bags from 8pm to 7am and the burn pot was full!

We clean the burn pot and vacuum out the ash every night. We've kept up on most of the recommended maintenance in the manual except cleaning the blower as we can't easily get to it due to the stove's proximity to the wall. Is there other maintenance that we should be doing? Are the pellets bad?

The glass has always been "dirty" but never this black. I should note that the company that installed it stated we did not need a return air as our house is very old and drafty enough. Also, we keep the trim at -2 or -3 otherwise the fire is roaring and burning inefficiently. Sorry for so many questions but we are total newbies to this!!