Pre 2020 Summit insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Bushels20

Feeling the Heat
May 20, 2018
OH
I may have the chance to buy a floor model, new, never burned, but still the floor model. I can get this at a deal (price yet to be determined) because it will soon be illegal to sell. The dealer needs to unload it to make room for the 2020.

Seeking advice. Any reason to shy away from the pre-2020 unit? Downsides of not having the latest and greatest? Downsides to buying a floor model?

I ran all my measurements today. It will fit. I have been eyeballing the unit for a couple years. Larger firebox is my goal. N/S loading and larger loads equal less hassling around now that the family has gone from 2 to 4.

No reason to shy away from it. That's a great insert, especially if the prices is good too. FWIW, our 2008 Alderlea was a floor model too. Just make sure that you get all the parts. Sometimes floor models can be scavenged to supply a customer in need of a quick part.

Great, thank you.

I actually just spoke with the dealer, oddly enough they have the floor model available and ALSO a very slightly used model as well. According to the dealer, they took it in as a buyback form a customer who had them install it and ultimately, they did not like using an insert and went back to a fireplace.

Same question. Any reason to shy away assuming it’s really “slightly used”?

What should I be looking for to make sure it’s in good shape?