Questions for Summit Experts

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

vialator

Sep 21, 2009
Central NY
This is my first time posting here, so let me start off by saying that this is a GREAT SITE! Thanks to everybody who posts here, I have learned a lot in the past year!

Now for my questions. Last year my wife and I purchased a free-standing PE Summit. We used it pretty much 24/7 last winter, and we are pretty happy with it. Yesterday afternoon I was sweeping the chimney and cleaning out the stove in preparation for the coming cold weather. While I was doing this, I noticed two things about our stove that are a little odd.

First, the flame shield is installed quite a bit crooked. It is basically rotated counter-clockwise around the mounting bolt near the flue collar, so that when you are looking in the firebox, the front right corner of the flame shield is at least an inch closer to the right wall of the firebox than the front left corner is to the left wall. I don't know whether it was like this when the dealer installed it, or if it somehow shifted since installation (seems unlikely to me, though). Does anybody know if this is something that I should be concerned about, either in terms of performance or stove longevity? I tried pushing the shield back into place, but it didn't want to budge, so I may need to remove the baffle and loosen the bolt first.