Red Oak or Black Oak?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tfdchief

Minister of Fire
Hearth Supporter
Nov 24, 2009
Tuscola, IL
myplace.frontier.com
I hate to admit this since I have a degree in Botany, but I never could tell the difference, for sure, between the Northern Red oak and Black Oak. I have 2 Red Oaks in my back yard, I think, that I transplanted from the woods 35 years ago. I just cut some Red Oak, I think, today. I know all the written characteristics of both, and in fact, looked them both up again tonight and am as confused as I always have been. Anybody out there have one really good distinguishing feature that only one of the 2 has? Does Black oak have the redish brown wood that Red oak has? Does the red color that shows when you chip off the bark on a red oak not there when you chip off bark on a black oak? HELP!