Rust Control for front of insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

NoGoodAtScreenNames

Feeling the Heat
Sep 16, 2015
Massachusetts
Hi everyone,

I'm kind of new to all this - entering my second burn season. I had an Enviro Boston 1700 installed last year. I have the plain cast iron finish on it. That might not be the right way to describe it. It's a slightly scratchy finish with little specs of iron in when you look closely. I love the way it looks and want to keep it that way for as long as possible.

Here's a link to some pictures.

http://enviro.com/products/catalogue/product/?prod=1700C-FPI

After one year, there are a few really small lines of rust here and there. Nothing anyone other than me would notice at this point. My question is how to prevent or fix any rusty areas as they develop. Everything I've read about rust control like sanding and spraying with high temp paint doesn't seem appropriate for my finish. Any ideas? I think I might just let it go for a few years until it gets real bad and then I'd have to just paint the whole thing. Anything I can do to prevent rust in the first place?

Thanks.

Good question. I am amazed at the amount of surface rust I have with my Accentra insert. I wire brushed, sprayed with PAM, blocked off the chimney and used Damp Rid...still rust. I have a cast and steel lined Jotul woodstove and NEVER had this issue. I am thinking quality of material.