Secondary burn...Does it make noise ?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

newguyjoe

Nov 7, 2008
Monroe,NY
Hi all,
So im new to wood burning this year, i left the pellet world. I bought a VC Dauntless. So, on start up the bypass is open for a while till i have some coals going. when the stove gets hot(out of the "creosote zone" on my stovetop thermometer) ill close the bypass and ill hear a constant sound, kinda like a big blow torch. when i hear this and look outside at the cap there is no smoke and that is good. when its not making the sound there usually is smoke. i didnt buy and the stove didnt come with the catalyst. so i guess my question is, Is that sound the secondary burn or do i not get a secondary without the cat ?
Thanks,
Joe

I'm not familiar with this stove specifically, but if it is a 2020 stove, it either has a cat, or does an intense secondary burn...that must be what you are hearing...I've heard of other stoves that had a "rumble" when they were doing their thing...

I don’t think so. You may be hearing some noise/whistling as your stove is breathing in air...

Calling Corie to the front desk with the first Dauntless question. This sounds like secondary afterburner operation. How are the stove temps?

Reactions: newguyjoe