Shipping a woodstove???

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Shari

Minister of Fire
Oct 31, 2008
Wisconsin
Does anyone have any experience shipping a woodstove? I found one on Craig's List that is just perfect for us - but - it is in Michigan and we are in Wisconsin. Somewhere, sometime, someone mentioned a shipping company for purchases like this but I can't find the thread.........

Shari

You could check this place out. I was looking into using this service to arrange shipping some stuff when we moved from Virginia, but I never needed to, so I have no personal experience with it:

http://www.uship.com/

That is what friends and relatives with pickup trucks were put on this planet for.

BB,

I have found that friends and family with pickup trucks are good for about 2 hours. :) I'm talking 10 hrs. round trip straight driving. Good idea though.

Shari

Shari said:
BB,

I have found that friends and family with pickup trucks are good for about 2 hours. :) I'm talking 10 hrs. round trip straight driving. Good idea though.

Shari

Can you borrow a truck, Shari?

We recently scored a 2008 dodge grand caravan for a trip to Chicago and back. We got it at Enterprise and they had a special weekend rate of $20/day. That woulda hauled a woodstove and done it in class.
Maybe they'll hold it for ya till you can work something out?