Show Us Your Wood Shed

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
what harm can befall if any scab fails? it's just wood :-D
The threshold to sanity is when he starts figuring the actual volume of the shed itself, in his CSS'd cords calculations. ;lol Burn the wood, then the shed!

Reactions: ctreitzell
The threshold to sanity is when he starts figuring the actual volume of the shed itself, in his CSS'd cords calculations. ;lol Burn the wood, then the shed!
the fasteners alone ...they we prolly freebies too :)

yeah, me too
got some sheds to build...and best consider building a barn
but I'm a carpenter
allergic wood stretching

90% of that wood came from the power equipment company down the street. They get mowers, tractors, snowblowers etc shipped in crates. Most of the wood seems to be Oak. Real PIA to hammer stuff into. Had to drill pilot holes as I do not have a nail gun.

allergic wood stretching
Agreed. Time is money, and scarfed joints require a post beneath. I won't hate on anyone working with the materials they have, but I'd rather save my time (and support posts) and just buy the lengths I need!

90% of that wood came from the power equipment company down the street. They get mowers, tractors, snowblowers etc shipped in crates. Most of the wood seems to be Oak. Real PIA to hammer stuff into. Had to drill pilot holes as I do not have a nail gun.
I pilot EVERYTHING

I use screws so much more often than nails

It can be expensive, BUT we always buy a big Trade box of Reisser cutter screws when they are on sale