Sleepless about creosote

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Curler

Feb 6, 2021
Georgian Bay, Ontario
My first post here guys. Can't say how useful I find this forum! I'm a complete newbie to woodburning, it's 4am and I have recently installed a Stuv 30 and a Stuv 16-Cube which are causing me a bit of sleeplessness.

We've been using both stoves since November, but the Stuv 30 gets used every day, all day. Just recently, a portion of the glass on the 30 has begun to get partially covered with brown soot (creosote?) when I'm starting it, and a fair volume of smoke escapes into the room when I'm getting it going and open it to load more split wood. This is different from before when the glass would remain clean and very little smoke would escape at any time. (Once it's burning, very little smoke escapes when I open to reload.)

A couple of factors that you might ask about:
- I've begun to use pine branches I've collected as kindling. In the past, we've been using split hardwood.
- My wood has moisture content of 16-19%, although this has been checked on wood at room temp that was split maybe 24 hrs ago. (I'll re-check today using fresh splits)
- the Stuv is in our kitchen and the chimney runs straight up about 8 feet up to the ceiling, through the roof and maybe another 6-8 feet outside
- I have a magnetic Taylor temp thermometer on the chimney about 6-inches above the stove. The reading is in the 400-600F range for the first few hours in the morning, then we drop it down to around 300-400F as the house becomes warmer
- I've been using this stove for 90 days but haven't used any creosote buster or anything