So I bought a house with a wood stove.....

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

crowbar032

Oct 10, 2018
Southeast Indiana
...and I'm a rookie. There is a gas furnace available, but the previous owner used the stove as his primary heat and wanted to take the stove when he moves. The stove was an insert but used as a free standing stove and located in the basement and not hooked up to the ventilation system. I'm now left with no stove, a functioning chimney, and a girlfriend who wants to burn wood. My girlfriend and I both commute about an hour for work and will be gone 10 hours a day. Is there a stove that will keep a fire that long? I've looked at a specific brand that claims a burn time of longer than 10 hours, but I'd like a real world experience. I've also done some research on the outdoor wood boilers. I like the idea of a top load one that I could take the skidsteer and dump in a whole load of logs. What made you choose a wood stove over an outdoor wood boiler? My concern is letting the water freeze and how they would work if the electric goes out.

I should also mention my ability to obtain wood. I have an 80 acre farm that has plenty of available wood. Previous owner also works for a forestry company and has access to the butt ends, split logs, logs with metal, etc., that can't be used for lumber. They pay him to "clean up the yard" of all that scrap. He currently has 2 semi loads of logs at his farm waiting to be split. Obtaining more wood than I can burn will not be an issue.

Look up Blaze King stoves. Longest burning stoves on the market.