Starting a chainsaw

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Can someone post a video on drop starting? I like perfecting commonly acceptabled stupid and dangerous practices. :)

I cold start with the saw on the ground...usually with me pinning it down with my hand firmly on the handle.

I hot start standing just holding the handle.

Stroke is a leading cause of death and disability and, while I'm not a doctor, I know that most strokes begin with blood clots forming in the legs and becoming lodged in the blood vessels bringing oxygenated blood to the brain. I also know that the bruising caused by things as benign as ill fitting ski boots have been associated with clotting leading to a stroke. Strokes can be fatal or seriously debilitating. If bruising from ski boots can cause a stroke then it only stands to reason that bruising from starting a chainsaw between your legs can lead to a stroke. And yet it is unlikely that a chainsaw has ever been attributed to death or disability by stroke. Yet, if someone drop starts a saw using poor technique and receives a nasty gash, we know exactly what caused the injury. But death or disability is the same whether it's caused by a bloody gash or the silent killer.

I find that starting the saw is the easiest part of my day. Felling, limbing/bucking and moving the wood is much more difficult than starting.

Frankly,, if I have to worry about strokes. I'll either be a stubborn old man and stroke out in the woods doing something I love, or stay inside.