Stove selection and location

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

illini81

Feeling the Heat
Apr 7, 2017
Southeastern CT
So this is the first of probably many many posts in my stove selection journey. I am totally new to wood burning. From what I have read so far, every situation is different (home layout and age, stove location, chimney set up, climate, type and moisture content of wood, homeowner’s goals for the stove, etc…), and it is not hard to end up with the wrong stove. I really don’t want to end up there. The combination of expertise and surprising willingness to help that I have found on these forums gives me hope that I won’t.

I am hoping for input on both stove selection and stove location.

First, the facts:
  • Geographical location: Southeastern CT (East Lyme)
  • Home type: Colonial
  • Home size: 1400 sqft main level (where stove will be located), 1000 sqft upper level (4 bedrooms), 1000 sqft finished basement that I will not try to heat with the stove.
  • Home details: See the attached schematic. Downstairs layout is not super open… but we are planning on knocking down the two walls indicated on the schematic in the next year or two, which should open things up. Eight foot ceilings throughout.
  • Wood: Maple and oak.

Stove Location Options:

1. In front of existing fireplace (in which a gas insert is currently installed, see pic).
a. Run flue out back of stove and up existing chimney. I have no idea what sort of draft my chimney will have, so my preference would be to have an inside chimney