stove selection

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Zamfir

Hello ,I've been lurking for months so that i could learn as much as possible before i waste any time with lazy questions, but i am a newbie to wood burning. My wife and i bought a home that we intend on retiring in, i am already semi retired. Our home is an A frame chalet style house with a full basement that is 23 x 35 ft. with a central ,open stairway. The main floor is directly above, also 23 x 35 split into 2 small bedrooms, bathroom, living room with a vaulted ceiling and a small kitchen. The upstairs is a small loft. The above ground sq. footage is 1100 ft.
The home was built in the 70s as a seasonal hunting camp and is very leaky with large windows and poor insulation. I have access to the basement from the main hallway for feeding the stove and there is also a convenient ground level entrance that opens up directly to our 10 acres of hardwoods, located in the middle of a national forest.At one time there was a woodstove in the basement and there is still a hole for my chimney in the block wall, 6 ft. off the floor. There used to be a masonry chimney outside of the hole that went straight up to the roof peak that has been torn down,but it was in the perfect location so i won't even have to go thru the eaves.