Strange Results

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

zabman

Hearth Supporter
Dec 10, 2008
NW Ohio
hi, im fairly new to wood burning. a few years ago, while working construction, had acquired a free wood stove in good condition. it was one of those "hey can you get rid of this thing for us" type of things, which kindly obliged. the stove, which was an old blaze king, as old as i am, had what looked like new bricks, and even a new door seal in it but had not been burned in quite some time. a genuine score if you ask me. we manhandled it to my basement which i decided i was going to cut some heating bills by burning down there. so far, all is well. well when i first went to fire it up a year ago, i noticed it did not put out much heat at all. i had the thermostat cranked up all the way and you could still about touch the stove it was so cool. well after having had a friend come over to help trouble shoot, we realized that someone who had taken off the butterfly cover had put in a long sheet metal screw and it was preventing the butterfly from opening thus very little air entering. we backed out the screw a little and from there on, it put out some really nice heat.