Support Box Trim cathedral ceiling; 24" OC rafter

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

littlebluehouse

Nov 25, 2018
camden maine
Hi all,

I'm new to Hearth.com and also new to installing stove pipes. Installing a Jotul F400 and running the stove pipe through a cathedral ceiling; 5/12 pitch; near the ridge.

anyhow, my rafters are spaced 24" oc. Luckily, where I want to run the chimney/install the support box is right next to a rafter; however, the next is, as you guessed, 24" away. How do I trim out the 10x10 frame without access to the next rafter (I'd really prefer not to take out extra drywall).

Thank you!

You may have to be a contortionist to do it, but you should be able to run two pieces of framing lumber, 22-1/2" long,
between your rafters/ceiling joists. The challenge is to be able to fasten them.
The best was I've found is with deck screws & a long extension drive in my screwgun.
I start them into the boards & using a small level & pencil to mark a plumb line, I attach
the end I can see first.
Then, I use a speed square to ensure that board is perpendicular to the rafter/ceiling joist &
drive the screws into the far end. Add the smaller member between the two cross pieces
& screw that to them, using your level for plumbness & speed square for perpendicularity.
Hope this makes sense...

Reactions: begreen
Daksy, that does make sense. I was doing some late night pondering and figured that was going to be my best choice. how do you accommodate for pitch to make a level and plumb box? thanks for the reply