Vermont castings reliance

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

shootrj2003

Oct 29, 2022
Ny
I had a Reliance 2340 given to me ,I’m new to these pellet stoves,,so…everything seems to work ,auger feeds,fans work,it does burn,just does not get real hot or burn well .and after a long time it shuts off ,I’m thinking even at top speed it does not feed enough pellets ,it does feed just not enough.if I put pellets on manually it seems to burn well.I emptied the hopper ,the pellets in the stove seem dry to me,I vacuumed it and all air passages -out it’s a clean stove,at the bottom of the hopper is ,I guess,the feed block which moves back and forth to feed pellets to the auger,it does move,however if I reach down while it’s moving I can fairly easily stop it and even push it back and it will cycle around and move again,is this safety engineered to prevent smashed fingers? If it is I can’t see it pushing much pellets with any force! If not,is it broken or out of adjustment? I removed the back cover and it is operated by a complicated looking linkage and wheel drive,the wheel being turned by attachment to the auger shaft in a planetary manner,its held by an arm against the linkage and it rolls and pushes against the linkage which is attached to the feed block internally and above the auger,hard for me to describe this set up! Sorry., the owners manual is for…well owners ,not guys who want to repair it,to avoid paying the repair guys .a field service manual would be awsome but of course they are hidden from mortals!I hope you can help,this thing weighs about 400 lbs and I don’t want to move it in the house til i know it