Why is my chimney installed like this?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Daniel9913

Feb 3, 2024
Delaware
I am a wood stove newbie.

We just bought a house in December, this is a chimney attached to a wood stove. Why is that piece installed in the middle? Why is it turning black above up and not below it? We've burned maybe 30-40 fires so far. I had it inspected but I wasn't home when it happened and they said it was fine. But it doesn't look fine?

IMG_5279 Large.jpeg

It's an incorrect install. The storm collar (the cone turned black from soot) should be down, covering the flashing and those slots. Also, the chimney height looks like it may be too short.

The inspector likely didn't know squat about woodstoves. What stove is this connected to?

The chimney height must conform to the 10-3-2 rule. Check it.

10-3-2 rule.JPG

Note how the storm collar covers the flashing.
Screenshot 2024-02-03 at 9.13.39 AM.png

Also, the storm collar shown is slathered with roofing tar. That will need to be completely cleaned off or the storm collar replaced. Roofing tar should not be used there. Instead, the storm collar gets a generous bead of silicone II adhesive caulk around the rim to seal it against the chimney pipe.

It's an incorrect install. The storm collar (the cone turned black from soot) should be down, covering the flashing and those slots. Also, the chimney height looks like it may be too short.

The inspector likely didn't know squat about woodstoves. What stove is this connected to?
It's an old school inefficient stove

IMG_5280 Large.jpeg