will trimming the pedestal of a free standing slightly effect performance?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tholmes69

Aug 26, 2013
north carolina
I have been stalking this forum for a few months, gathering info and waiting to strike. I finally did locally on craigslist and scored a brand new complete, never installed, been sitting in a shed Century FW3000 for the tidy sum of $100. I plan to install it in my exterior wall fireplace, single story home. Has the ash "dump" in the floor of the existing fireplace, I will be installing a 6in full liner with cap and block off plate at the damper/smoke shelf. My question, my fireplace dimension has only a 28in height in front (width is plenty wide on my fireplace opening). I know the stove will stick out 7in on my hearth, but the height at the lowest on the stove is 28.5 inches. SO, can I trim the bottom two "angles" on the pedestal to gain an inch and allow it to slide into the opening? Will that effect the performance of the stove at all? There isn't any sort of intake air that comes up through the base, is there? Below is a picture of the stove, and what I am referring to trimming is the bottom 45 degree angle on the front and back of the stand, so it would sit flush on the bottom plate.

Thanks for the advice and guidance.