Wood Storage in the house?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Roxburyeric

Hearth Supporter
Feb 6, 2008
Western Connecticut
I'm new to wood burning this year and have been thinking about what to put a day or two's worth of wood in, in the family room near the stove. I have been thinking about building a storage bin or buying a pre-made cabinet to keep wood in near the stove. I even figured I could put wheels under it (hidden of course so it looks more like furniture than an ugly box on wheels) so I could wheel it to the door to fill up. Thought I would ask what others do so I don't have to reinvent the wheel. Any thoughts or pictures of what you guys use is appreciated. Thanks - Eric

Well the wood game can be dirty. I have 2 sons that drag in the wood and stack it in two log holders from the hearth store.I keep 20 CF of wood in the house. I like to get the wood dry and warm before burning it. If it going to snow i will stack a pile between the log holders.

Search around a bit this topic has been discussed but the short answer is lots of people have different and varied ways and opinions on the subject. Here's my "indoor" wood storage at my vacation home (about .2 cord). At my regular address I use two large wicker baskets which gives me about a day.

Front:
IMG_0751.jpg

Back:
IMG_0755.jpg