Wood Stove in Sunroom

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

MagdalenaP

Burning Hunk
Nov 10, 2018
Tilbury, ON
Hey All!

Newbie here! I'm looking to have a wood stove installed, and the only good spot I have for it, is in a sunroom off my dining room, that has large (about 4@ 4'x6' windows (fully sealed double pane, and on the other side of the wall is the original brick, that use to be the exterior of the house). It's pretty centrally located. Would this be ok and heat up the house well? Or is the spot not that great with so many windows?

Stove is a regency f2400, rated for 2200 sqf. House is 1800sqf.

Thanks in advance!

Hey All!

Newbie here! I'm looking to have a wood stove installed, and the only good spot I have for it, is in a sunroom off my dining room, that has large (about 4@ 4'x6' windows (fully sealed double pane, and on the other side of the wall is the original brick, that use to be the exterior of the house). It's pretty centrally located. Would this be ok and heat up the house well? Or is the spot not that great with so many windows?

Thanks in advance!
You are probably going to have trouble distributing the heat

Because of the windows? How so, will they "absorb" the heat (or the brick)? I haven't mentioned the layout, but have thought about adding a couple of fans and blowing cold air towards it.

As long as its insulated well it should be fine, you can figure out distributing the heat once its installed.

Because of the windows? How so, will they "absorb" the heat (or the brick)? I haven't mentioned the layout, but have thought about adding a couple of fans and blowing cold air towards it.