Woodstove fire in high wind weather

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

oddodaoddo

Jan 3, 2018
Virginia
Hello, we are about to start experiencing a high wind event here in Virginia. Sustained winds of 40mph with gusts up to 60 or 70mph are supposed to start tonight and go on all day tomorrow and into Saturday morning. Since the ground is saturated with rainfall, trees are expected to come down and power may be out for a while. This is my first year with a wood stove - should I start a fire with such high winds outside? What are the risks? Sorry if I sound naive but with such high winds, is there risk of the air coming back down into the wood stove at high speed and causing an issue?

Thanks!

I wouldn’t think so. I’ve run mine with high winds and no problems. There may be others that have different experiences though.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: oddodaoddo
It's possible if your draft is marginal to start with . . . but usually this is not an issue. I have run my stove through many a blizzard or wind storm.

Reactions: oddodaoddo
It's windy as heck right now and I'm burning. It might burn slightly different with the wind sucking on the straw, but I don't have any concerns. My experience is only with my set-up though, and I have a real strong draft to begin with.