a newb looking at a P38 or other options?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

slow-al

Hearth Supporter
Aug 9, 2009
madison Wi
I'm a newb, I live in Madion Wi. My house is your average 1950's ranch, about 1000 sg/ft. The stove will be used in the basement, the original chimney is unused so that'll be the exhaust. The exterior walls do need insulating but I think that'll be my fall /winter project.

I'm looking a getting a P38, I like the heat range, 7000-38000 btu's, and the fact that it has minimal electronics on it.

I guess that's question #1, is that an appropriate size stove for the area?

#2 Are there other manufacturers making a similar model?

#3 Any recommend dealers in the Madison Wi. area? Any to avoid?

I was quoted $2200 for the stove, $400 for the chimney liner, $650 for install. This is getting pricey.
#4 Is this the going rates?

#5 The local dealer said if I buy the stove from them I can buy pellets at thier cost, ($235 I think it was) or $285 if I bought it elsewhere. I'll need to verify if there's a time limit on this but would you spend more upfront (assuming this dealer is high on his stove price's) to save on fuel.

#6 For thoes that have the P38, if it magically disappeared, would you replace it with another p38 or a different model? Like the p43?

#7 I was told a $45 per year increase on my homeowners, (Pekin insurance). Is this the going rate?

#8 Pellet storage, I have the normal basement, slightly damp. Are pellets prone to absorbing moisture if stored off the floor?