Ash Removal from Wood Stove Insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lschwab8

Hearth Supporter
Nov 6, 2010
WNY
Does anyone have a better way to remove ashes from a wood insert? I don't think there are any inserts that have ash pans and the only way seems to be to shovel the ashes into a bucket. If the ashes are the least bit warm, the resulting dust storm looks like a small mushroom cloud rising out of the bucket. I'm a bit of a newbie, this is only my second season, but I was hoping to start this year with a little less dust.

Here's the simple way to clean out ash without an ash storm.

Make sure stove is warm, at least some coals.
Get an ash hoe (google it) and rake coals forward
Push coals to the right, shovel up ash that's left behind.
Place bucket near the door and slowly push the shovel of ash into the bucket that has ash in it, remove it slowly.
Push all the coals to the left, remove ash that's left behind.
Place bucket near the door and slowly push the shovel of ash into the bucket that has ash in it, remove it slowly.
Push coals to the right to balance all the coals.

The alterntive is to get a damp towel and place that over the pail. Put the shovel in the pail, and then cover the pail with the towel as you pull out the shovel.

Both options work. Remember to leave two inches of ash on the stove floor.