Blaze King Smells Smokey On Low

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

SD Golden

Aug 1, 2018
South Dakota
I'm still learning my Sirocco 30, this weekend I had the house warmed up and thought I'd turn it down and go for a long burn. About half an hour or so after turning it down I could smell a faint smoke smell upstairs that was noticeably stronger down stairs. I turned the stove back up about half way and the smell dissipated over time. Is this common or do I need to do something different or is it a draft problem on low? The chimney is 4' of double wall stove pipe inside, a double wall 90 with 1' of double wall stove pipe horizontal connected to 2' of class A though the wall, a T, then 18' of class A up the side.

Post some pictures if able, so the higher ups can diagnose it for you.

I will add that one thing could be the problem, try cracking a window, you might be pulling a negative inside the house. If that helps you might think about an outside air source.

Have you checked the tension on the door gasket with a dollar bill?

Was there a breeze outside?

Does your chimney cap terminate 2 feet above any part of your building within10 feet and at least 3 feet above the roofline?

How cold was it outside?

I can induce the smoke/creo stink by turning my therm. down too far. Everyone's (stove/pipe) setup is different. You will find a sweet spot to turn down to with experience. My low position is actually at 3, or the halfway position. This position is just a bit lower than where it needs to be to extinguish active flame. Any less and my cat begins to stall and I get a distinct smell.