Burn times with osburn 2200.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Sully

Feeling the Heat
Oct 28, 2013
Delaware
What type of burn times are people seeing with osburn 2200 insert. So far I have nothing to brag about. I am new to stoves but seems like I get three to 4 hours max. It's a new stove. The fan is on a sensor and usually is off when I come Down in morning. I can put wood in and it lights up with out a match , that's nice but not exactly what I thought I'd be getting out of this insert. I am leaning towards the wood not being great. It's just mixed wood. I am looking into getting a cord of oak and cherry and seeing if that changes the game. Hopefully because I can't keep coming up with ideas/excuses to the wife on why it's burning down so fast. What is the best way to load and run stove , no air before bed ? Thanks in advance to replies

With that size of stove you should be able to get an 8 hour cycle time.

You wont have flames the entire time but hot coals will be left to start another fire.

If you have enough coals left after 8 hours to start another fire without the help of fire starters then you had an 8 hour burn cycle.