Cost for a venting system ?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

oilcan1001

May 2, 2023
Prescott, AZ, USA
I'm a newbie here. I'm learning and looking for advice.
I want to install a new stove before winter and I called a local chimney sweep to get a bid for install. I could probably do this myself, but thought it might be safer to let a professional handle it. I was a little shocked at the cost of materials.

Does $2200 for materials for a stovepipe and chimney pipe sound normal ? His labor to install is another $800.
Also, what brand/mfr stove and chimney pipe would you seasoned guys suggest ?

TIA

I currently have a 35yr old PE installed in a single story home, 8' ceiling, then about 4-5' attic space up to the peak of my roof, with about a 3' chimney enclosure on top of that.

stove 2.JPG IMG_2868.JPG IMG_2870.JPG

Just pricing out a rough, medium quality class A setup I got $1700. Throw in singlewall or double wall for inside the house and you’d be looking at more. I didn’t include shipping, tax, or any fabrication costs.

Since we don’t know what he’s using, it doesn’t seem like his prices are that high.

Just pricing out a rough, medium quality class A setup I got $1700. Throw in singlewall or double wall for inside the house and you’d be looking at more. I didn’t include shipping, tax, or any fabrication costs.

Since we don’t know what he’s using, it doesn’t seem like his prices are that high.

If it's not too much trouble , could you provide the list of items and brand of product you priced out so I can get and idea of what is needed.