England 28-3500 - Low Heat Issue

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Shearerhollow

Feb 28, 2021
Massachusetts
Hoping someone might be able to help. I am new to wood furnaces entirely. Just got a England 28-3500 for my shop - no ductwork, just to dump the heat out into the room.

I can’t seem to get the fire burning hot. I have a thermometer about 12”up the pipe. It’s is topping out at about 250 degrees. When I open the ash door, it skyrockets into over fire. Wondering what might be the issue?

have the top damper slid all the way to the left, bottom opened all the way, and the baffle is slid all the way to the back.

thanks in advance for any help.

image.jpg

Obvious question is if your firewood is properly seasoned. My 28-3500 absolutely hates anything above 20% moisture content. The stove is a nightmare to operate without good, dry wood.

Have you had your chimney swept recently or is it a new install? I'd want to make sure there's no blockage causing draft issues.

Other than that, I wonder if the upper damper lever may be broken or malfunctioning somehow. Do you notice a change in the fire when you slide that upper damper all the way to the right? My 28-3500 seems happiest when flu temps are about 375*

Obvious question is if your firewood is properly seasoned. My 28-3500 absolutely hates anything above 20% moisture content. The stove is a nightmare to operate without good, dry wood.

Have you had your chimney swept recently or is it a new install? I'd want to make sure there's no blockage causing draft issues.