• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Smokedfish

Mar 22, 2018
Hartford CT Area
I am new to wood burning heat this winter. I had a Fireplace Xtrordinair (Travis) Large Flush mounted wood burning fireplace insert installed in September.

I've had a few issues with it over the winter, first being that the catalytic combuster fell out into the firebox in the middle of a burn of in November.

But the issue that I am having now is smoke or smoke smell coming out from the blower. Most of the time it works fine, but if I leave the blower on high when I go to bed, it sometimes smells of smoke in the living room in the morning, or sometimes I wake up to the fire alarm ringing at 3 in the morning, with or without a smell of smoke. Visible smoke has not been an issue.

Yesterday, I came home from a long day of work to the whole house smelling strongly of smoke. So bad that we opened the doors and ran the attic fan for 10 minutes to try and clear it out, all while it is 35ish degrees out. I had forgotten to turn the fan down to low when I left for work in the morning.

From the times it has happened, I have noticed the following common denominators:
1. The blower is on high
2. The fire is at the end of its burn, as the final coals burn down. Hence while it only happens overnight or while I am gone for the day.

The wood I have been using is mostly seasoned well. Being my first season, I am doing the best I can with what I was able to purchase. Most of it is pretty good, try to set aside splits that appear to need more time to season for next year.