Got a wood Boiler.... how to plumb/control it with radiant & DHW & Storage

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

TuckerTerra2000

Mar 18, 2021
Maine
Hi! Let me start out by saying I AM NOT a plumber/heater. I am an electrician. My best friend is a plumber/heater but he has very little experience with solid fuel boilers. He is helping me with the whole system but is uncomfortable trying to come up with a solution that will do what I am trying to do.

I finally got a (new to me) wood boiler. It is a Buderus g201 in great shape. I know I have read that it is more of a coal boiler for for $300 and the shape it is in I figured it was a good one to start with.
With that being said, I am building a house mostly out of pocket so I do not have a ton of funds available to buy new fancy equipment.

Here is what I am trying to do; I have a 2600 sqft ranch (counting 1st floor only, not the basement). It has radiant in the slab and 1st floor. I currently have an oil boiler running the radiant. I have not got my DHW setup yet but plan to use a Indirect tank so I can use the wood boiler to assist with heating it. That is where the catch is with plumbing and control...

I do not have thermal storage yet but plan to get something (not sure what yet...). With the radiant I can use the storage water down to 100F (plus/minus). For the DHW obviously that wont work.

I DO NOT WANT the oil boiler to heat the thermal storage, and it has to be automatic because I am gone most weekends in the winter and need the oil boiler to automatically kick in when the wood boiler cools.

Most of the diagrams I have found appear to do 2 things: