Hay Hooks

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Old Red

Jan 21, 2016
Onondaga NY
Looking at the local online garage I saw a photo of '3 antique hay hooks $40'. Wrote the seller and said I'll come get them. I've never used pulp hooks before but I'll give them a try.

Monday last I got drafted to unload and stack hay where the wife boards her horse. They had no hay hooks around because the place has a lot of young boarders. Next time they put me to work I'll be equipped.

sn1.jpg

They're marked Snow & Nealley Bangor Maine.

sn2.jpg

Reactions: Sean McGillicuddy
Nice set of hooks. When I was a youngster my stepfather had a similar set of hooks. Didn't realize then they were hay hooks. He used them to scare me and my sister when we were slack on our chores. He would chase us, flailing his arms around while holding the hooks. It would get us right back on task pronto. The old days. Good times for sure.

I have one with a ring in place of the handle, which I use on the far end of a log when skidding them into the trailer with the winch. You can only get the logs so far onto the trailer with the tongs on the foreword end, so to get them home I play some cable out, and connect it to one of those hooks jammed in the aft end of the log.

Didn't realize then they were hay hooks.

Just the one is a hay hook. The two with a flat blade are pulp hooks. I'd been thinking about getting a set; looked at them on Bailey's website the morning these came up for sale.