Help with stove decision please

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

prestonmoler

Hearth Supporter
Jun 19, 2010
Maryland
Hello to all. I am a new member to your sight, though I have been reading reviews on it for several weeks.

I am not knew to woodstoves, as I have been using one for 20 years. The stove I currently use heats a semi-finished basement and the level above (about 2200 sq ft total). The stove is tired, and I'm tired of it:) I have been researching many stoveslarge stoves, soapstone, cast iron, as well as plate steel. I prefer a large stove. The stove I have now is plate steel, but that does not mean my next stove has to be plate steel also.
I am open to new ideas if it feels right.

I have several dealers to choose from in a 50 mile radias. I prefer a local dealer to online for this kind of purchase.
So far in person I have seen Vermont Castings Defiant, Hearthstone Heritage, Hearth Stone Bennington, Lennox Spectra C1200HT, Lennox Legacy S260, Lennox Canton ST310, Regency F3100, Enerzone Solution 3.4, Pacific Energy Summit / Summit Classic, Quadra-Fire 5700 Step Top, and Quadra-Fire Isla Royal.

All of these stoves have pros and cons as I have read, be it cosmetics, btu rating, efficiiency, etc. I realize it is a long list to have to narrow down to a final decision. That is why I am here asking for your help.