I think I am baffled, just not skamoled

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Yo-tul

Mar 18, 2011
Ohio
I am a relative newbie to the wood stove world, but due to an installation error by the shop, I am on my second Jotul 550. The shop did the right thing and replaced the stove, but as I built a break in fire now that the weather has started to cool, I noticed something different. I can see up the flue liner. From the looks of this picture, I think they installed the baffles, but forgot to pull the skamol panels into place (thank you manual for the terminology). Any confirmation is greatly appreciated. Sorry about the image size, it is all I could get under the attachment limit.

Attachments

• Baffles3.jpg
    Baffles3.jpg
    30.1 KB · Views: 328
Hard to see in the tiny image, but it sounds like you are correct. You should not be able to look up the flue exit.

The image is 75 x 75 pixels which would work for an avatar, but it's tiny for posting. The forum posts work better when the image size is more like 800-1000 pixels across.

Hey Yo, welcome to the forum. I can't help you with your issue but maybe you could elaborate? I'm having a Jotul 550 installed Sat. Sounds like you had a problem with your previous install. Was it hard to figure out if everything was properly installed and situated?