Insert not heating room

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

MikeI73

Jan 26, 2021
NY
Hi experts, I am new to using wood stoves and am hoping you can help me figure out what I'm doing wrong (or if my expectations are wrong). Long story short, my stove burns hot but the room it's in stays cool, and the stove isn't heating the rest of the level, let alone the rest of the house. I was hoping to rely less on gas to heat, but that is not proving to be the case.
I have an Enviro Boston 1700 insert, rated at 74000 BTU. It is connected to a newly installed 5.5 inch, 35-foot stainless liner (uninsulated) through an interior chimney. I am burning seasoned (2+ years split) locust and maple. The fire burns very hot (I don't have a thermometer to measure it but sitting within 2 feet of the stove it is so hot my eyes water!). It is in a 16'x24' room on the first floor of my house. It is an old home of masonry construction (clay block sandwiched between interior plaster and exterior stucco). Each of the 3 stories of my home is about 1700 sq ft. Floor plan is fairly open with wide doorways from room to room and a wide open staircase to the 2nd floor. Ceilings are 10 feet tall. I feed the stove with 3-5 logs every 3-5 hours and clean out ash every 3-4 days so I have a bed of ash and coals that ranges from 1 to 3 inches deep between cleanings. Once the fire is going, I close the air intake down to about 25% to get a nice slow flame with good secondary combustion.