Jotul 602 in a sauna advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Winstondog

Feb 11, 2018
Warsaw Ny
Hi...I am planning on using a Jotul 602 I have in a shed for a steam sauna. I am curious to what people have used on top of their 602 to hold the rocks. Would a large stockpot work? Would I need to put a piece of soapstone or steel plate between the stockpot and stove? Let me know your experiences you have had.

Last edited by a moderator:
don't know i'm not a designer but a large pot sound like the right thing because if you hit the top of the stove when it is screaming hot with water you'll probably crack the top

Reactions: begreen
Cast iron dutch oven found at a yard sale. Fill with rocks, leave in place all the time. It will rust, but that just adds to the rustic charm.

Attachments

• stove.jpg
    stove.jpg
    119.6 KB · Views: 2,212
Reactions: Jordan
Cast iron dutch oven found at a yard sale. Fill with rocks, leave in place all the time. It will rust, but that just adds to the rustic charm.
How large is your sauna and how hot can you get it with that 602? I'm thinking of doing the same.

What would regulate the heat? The 602 can really put out and will not cool down until the fuel load is coaling.

What would regulate the heat? The 602 can really put out and will not cool down until the fuel load is coaling.