Liner Sealing

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

RichardA

Oct 6, 2016
Wake Forest NC
Hello,
I have been using my Quadra Fire Explorer for two years now and lover it and but noticed something off when I swept my chimney.

The orange color flue collar sealant is brittle and the collar is loose. Also, there was no sealant on the liner into the color.

I have tried to attach a pic but it will not let me

I am ready to start burning and would appreciate some guidance here in how I should put this back together.

I need to know

1. Do I need sealant and where?
  2. What do I use?
  3. How soon after I apply sealant can I burn

Thanks for your help/
Rich

Hello,
I have been using my Quadra Fire Explorer for two years now and lover it and but noticed something off when I swept my chimney.

The orange color flue collar sealant is brittle and the collar is loose. Also, there was no sealant on the liner into the color.

I am ready to start burning and would appreciate some guidance here in how I should put this back together.

I need to know

2. What do I use?

Thanks for your help/
Rich

Attachments

• Stove Collar.PNG
    Stove Collar.PNG
    703.5 KB · Views: 122
Hello,

I need to know

2. What do I use?

Thanks for your help/
Rich
There should be no sealant and you should have a tee there instead of just bending the liner. The way you have it any debris that falls down the liner will lay in that bend and restrict flow.

And the adapter that was used isnt even the proper one for a lightwall liner like you have. It should attach with a band clamp not screws.

Reactions: Easy Livin’ 3000