Log Splitter Choices

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Pullypam

Apr 28, 2018
I'm just getting into woodburning as I'm building a house with an EPA fireplace. I've been log splitter shopping and I've seen a few interesting options:
1. Used Barreto 20 ton (E920LSHX) coming off rental at Home Depot for $1426
2. Used 2010 Power Tek 516VR 20 ton, previous rental for $1199
3. New Yard Max 25 ton for $899, already assembled at the local True Value
4. New Dirty Hand Tools 22 ton for $899 online
5. New Ariens 22 ton from someone on Craigslist for $950
6. Other suggestions?

I'm new to this so should I rent first??

I'll be splitting mostly oak and hickory.

Thanks, Mike

Last edited:
Look for one with a genuine Honda engine on it,and a cylinder made in USA

I love my Ariens 22 ton. Splits everything and light enough to move around by hand. Has some nice extras too. Center control, log cradles, engine mounted away from falling splits, a fold out plate at the rear to stabilize the machine when splitting vertical, angled wedge. Also made in USA (except Subaru engine.) Very fuel efficient.

Sent from my Moto E (4) using Tapatalk

Get the DHT or CountyLine with a cycle time no greater than 11 seconds and fits your budget. Honda engine is a plus but not necessary.

Thanks all. My wife convinced to rent first and buy one down the line.